The Broken West: I Can’t Go On, I’ll Go On

February 15, 2007 at 1:13 am (Albums, mp3s, The Broken West)

The image “https://i1.wp.com/ec1.images-amazon.com/images/P/B000LP6KOO.01._SS500_SCLZZZZZZZ_.jpg” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors.
It’s so hard to keep up with all music that’s released nowadays. Every time I’m busy listening to the latest big-name releases, some great band comes out of left-field. That’s exactly what happened with The Broken West. Mid-January, they released their debut LP, I Can’t Go On, I’ll Go On but like many other bloggers out there, I was too wrapped The Shins et all to give them a listen. Now, with this weeks lull in new releases, I’ve finally gotten around to them. I’m glad I did.
While I hate likening bands to other bands, I guess I’m going to have to here. All in all, The Broken West sounds something like Wilco and Spoon, but with a slightly (excuse the pun) western tinge. In the future, I think that The Broken West will join the ranks of just those bands. This album shows just that much promise. While I Can’t Go On, I’ll Go On has it’s issues (It’s a little unfocused, and drags a bit towards the end), most of it’s tracks are superb.Also, while pop is clearly the bands strong point, tracks like Shiftee show a willingness to experiment. Still, these are some of the best pop hooks this side of Spoon.

On The Bubble.mp3

Down In The Valley.mp3

Shiftee.mp3

Brass Ring.mp3

Technorati Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

