El-P: Habeas Corpses (Draconian Love)

February 19, 2007 at 9:57 pm (El-P, I'll Sleep When You're Dead, mp3s)

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

I may not show, but I love me some hip-hop. So when I heard about El-P’s new album a few months ago, I was about as happy as I could get. It’s songs like these that make me sure that my joy wasn’t unwarranted. My favorite song has a certain Orwellian charm to it. Not only is the beat killer, the samples perfect, and the raps smooth, but the story is amazing; it’s what makes the song a masterpiece. A sample line? “She’s the first to kiss me without crying
Habeas Corpses tells the story of Lee, a prison guard from an apocalyptic future. In this particular prison, the prisoners are regularly assassinated and raped; however, the protagonist of this story finds himself deeply attracted to a prisoner (#247290Z). He escapes with her, and attempts to evade the authorities. In the end . . . well, I won’t ruin it for you. All you need to know is that this track is stunning.

El-P – Habeas Corpses (Draconian Love).mp3

Technorati Tags: , ,

5 Comments

  1. cgreenz said,

    I get chills from this track.. I’m gonna buy this album when it drops even tho i got it all already, its that groundbreaking/good in my eyes. I was never even much of a fantastic damage fan with the exception of a few tracks.. this shit kills that shit, shit killer.

  2. Shnakepup said,

    I love this song, too. However, the “narrator” is named Lent, not Lee. Lent is a rapper who’s friends with El-P, and I think he does the “Yes, Sir” at the end.

    Every person who I played this song for felt like they were punched in the stomach when they heared the end 😉

  3. Fsckr said,

    Just copped the album and I can’t get over the song. The artist featuring is Mr. Lif (of Mo’ Mega fame). The contrast in attitudes btw Lif’s character and El-P’s is hilarious/disturbing…esp when Lif is like “yeah I see what u’r saying about 247290Z..but don’t worry, I’ll hold u down, as long as you return the favor coz I have a few numbers of my own…”
    we are all going to die!
    everything must go!

    PS: don’t forget to check out “League of Extraordinary Nobodies” wherein he tears the hip-hop industry a new one!
    ~
    fsckr

  4. nodutch said,

    I believe the featured artist is Cage.

  5. Steven Hambleton said,

    The prisoner that’s killed at the end is number 247690Z and not 247290Z…

Leave a Reply

