Bright Eyes: Susan Miller Rag

March 30, 2007 at 12:12 pm (b-sides, Bright Eyes, Cassadaga, mp3s)

Conor Oberst

I know you’re all waiting for more on Cassadaga, and I’m sorry that I haven’t posted more yet. I just don’t want to post it’s piece until I’m sure of my opinion. In that respect, the piece probably won’t be ready until mid-next week. But since this is, essentially, an mp3 blog, I’ll make a deal with you. I’ll give you this mp3 if you wait patiently and promise to check out my review next week. ‘Susan Miller Rag’ is a b-side from Cassadaga, which you should receive a 3″ CD of if you pre-ordered. It’s quite different from anything I’ve ever heard Bright Eyes do. It’s an upbeat rock track, with some very nice mellow instrumentation. After a few listens, it’s fairly easy to hear why it’s a b-side; it just doesn’t fit in with the overall tone of Cassadaga.

 

Bright Eyes – Susan Miller Rag.mp3

Technorati Tags: , , ,

4 Comments

  1. Jules said,

    I got my pre-order in the mail yesterday. I like the Susan Miller Rag, it would have fit nicely on the Four Winds EP, actually. For me, Cassadaga isn’t immediately accessible, not in the way that the Four Winds EP hit me when I first heard it. It’s going to take a number of listens for me to decide what I think.

  2. Garett said,

    I agree Jules. Four Winds was an immediate joy, but I can already tell the payoff with Cassadaga is going to be great in time. Walking around with it today on a sunny early spring day, I already started to connect with certain songs, so I’m very hopeful about the lasting impact even if it’s not an off the bat charmer.

  3. Oh Inverted World » The Friday Download Review said,

    […] Bright Eyes – Susan Miller Rag – Shameless Complacency […]

  4. Dirk Urso said,

    How to tell a company you’ve gotten a lower price estimate from someone else?

Leave a Reply

