We’re Back!

April 12, 2007 at 12:17 pm (Announcement)

Hey guys, as you may have noticed, SC was taken down yesterday, and was just put back up about an hour ago. The reason why it was taken down is complex, and I don’t feel like discussing it right now. I just want to say a few thing to my readers, as well as those responsible for the downtime.

This blog is just the place where I post music I like. It’s not intended to be a place where people can come and steal albums, singles, or EP’s and it never will be. I’m sorry if you mistook the purpose of this blog, but if you’re a decent human being, you’d know what that purpose was from the very beginning. All I’m doing is turning other people on to music I like. This blog is meant to increase record sales, not decrease them; I only post songs as a teaser, so that people will go out and buy records they like. If you look at the way record sales trends have changed over the past few years, you’ll see that blogs have definitely accomplished this.

We’re entering a new age of music distribution. The internet changed that face of the music, but the music industry isn’t changing with it. Piracy is inevitable. Labels are going to have to accept that even though anyone can download any album they want for free, people are still going to buy albums they like. There’s a huge difference between a piece of magnetized metal, and a real, packaged CD that you can hold in your hands. Record sales are decreasing, and probably will continue to do so, but digital sales are rising exponentially. No matter what people like to believe, mp3 blogs aren’t hurting the music industry. Whether you’d like to admit it or not, we’re now part of the music industry. Acting childishly, and flaunting your power by having our hosting taken away only reflects poorly on you. You look like the bully pushing around a kid who clearly can’t fight back. But, for now, I’m going to be the bigger person. I could tell people exactly what label had my blog taken down; but I won’t, in hopes of reaching a peaceful coexistence. We have to learn to live together; we’re two integral parts of an industry on the brink of collapse.

Technorati Tags:


8 Comments

  1. Alex said,

    Web Sheriff. Arctic Monkey’s leak. Wasn’t it?

    Great blog, thanks for keeping it up.

  2. Chris said,

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Great website. I for one usually buy the CD’s of artists I find compelling. For example, now that I’ve sampled Bjork’s up-coming single, I’ll be much more likely to go out and buy it!

    The world is changing and the music industry should change with it.

  3. Adam said,

    Glad your not disapearing for good, keep up the good work.

    ive been turned onto tens if not hundreds of artists becuase of blogs like your own over the past 5 months or so, pity the industry cant get its head round it.

  4. ken said,

    Great words – it’s lame that the record companies suck such major ass.

  5. musette said,

    You are definitely one of the good guys, fighting the good fight. Glad to see you back up.

  6. Pierre said,

    Tisk, from the sounds of it some uptight legal-type squealed.
    Keep up the good work. Music blogs are services that are popular and undeniable.

  7. Neil said,

    Great blog! I discovered it while searching for tasters for Bjork’s new material and I fully support your blog’s ethos. After hearing the Bjork track I then went and bought the extended mix on iTunes and the Arctic Monkeys tracks led me to ordering their album. Keep it up + thanks for introducing me to new bands too.

  8. Liz said,

    It’d be nice if you provided links to the artist’s myspace, website, and/or a place to purchase merch. Just a suggestion. I’m glad my disappointment only lasted so long after I found out your blog was taken down. Welcome back. : ]

Leave a Reply

