I’m Still Alive!

April 20, 2007 at 8:22 pm (Announcements)

I’m incredibly sorry for the lack of posts this week, but there wasn’t really anything I could do about it. Early Monday, when I was drawing up the Remix Roundup post, I lost electricity. In case you don’t know, SC is based out of Vermont, which was hit with a massive storm earlier this week. I’m talking 70mph winds, trees uprooted, houses smashed, cars totaled, whatever you can think of. Luckily, my neighborhood suffered relatively minor damage (only some vinyl siding torn off my neighbors house, some shingles from mine, and about a dozen trees down) but just like the rest of the city, I did lose electricity, cable, phone, and anything else supplied to me through lines above ground. The phone and cable lines were actually ripped from my house by the wind; as far as I know, they’re still somewhere down the street.

 

That’s enough about me though. Here are a few of my random thoughts about what I’ve seen this week. Be warned, this may be the most incoherent thing I’ve ever posted.

 

-What the hell happened to my Lily Allen Simlish post? Why are all of you leaving comments there?!

 -Cocorosie did not deserve the beating Pitchfork gave them.

-Where’s Volta!?

-It’s too bad about the Gorillaz. However, Damon Albarn is still a member of approximately  219 other bands, so it’s not that awful.

-I like my new sandals.

-I have a few posts all finished for you guys, which I’ll be posting throughout the next few days.

-I might update this post with some storm pics. ‘Cause those are all the these days, I hear.

-I think I’m becoming unhealthily obsessed  with Grizzly Bear.

-I’m running out of substantial things to say, yet I keep typing.

-I learned how to type these special characters: öú▒

-I’m done, really.

 -Here’s a completely random Gnarls Barkley song that popped up when I searched my music library for ‘storm’.

 

Gnarls Barkley – Storm Coming.mp3

3 Comments

  1. Zoë said,

    So glad to see a post from you again! I was really wondering what happened to you. I hope you and your house are okay.

  2. Êlisa said,

    First comment here. Hello!

    You’re so lucky you don’t have the weird special characters like ù, ò, é, è , ì , à, like we have in Italian! Matter of fact, I always make a mess when I go abroad and use foreign keyboards.

    Hope everything is back to “normal” after the storm.

    ciao

  3. Ana said,

    Glad to read you again. How do you write those characters? And, you probably know already, but you can see Björk’s ‘Earth Intruders’ videoclip in YouTube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8zQH5ogEUhI). Amazing and beautiful. Thanks for this blog. Take care =).

Leave a Reply

