Feist | The Reminder

April 27, 2007 at 11:43 am (Feist, mp3s)

While I liked Let It Die, I wasn’t really a Feist fan. She had some great songs, sure, but I was too annoyed with the lack of original material on Let It Die to be really excited about her. So, my expectations for The Reminder were modest; I was expecting something the same level as Let It Die. So when I heard The Reminder for the first time, about two months ago, I couldn’t have been more astounded.

 

It simply leaves her previous two albums looking like amateurish messes. And really they were, at least by the new standards Feist has set with The Reminder. It’s that obscenely good. Every element she’s ever experimented with – folk-rock, lounge jazz, rock, pop, and dance – all come together beautifully here; There’s not a single bad track on the entire album.

 

If those elements are the ice cream, hot fudge, and whipped cream of The Reminder, Feist herself is the cherry on top; the perfect addition to an already great mix. Her voice is one of the best in modern music; so full and rich, yet capable of such quiet delicateness when neccessary. If a 193’0s jazz singer time-traveled to 2007, this is exactly what she’d sound like.

 

This is a must buy album for 2007, right up there with Panda Bear and LCD. It’s Feist’s defining album, and will likely be her masterpiece, the reason why she’ll be remembered. Every bit of promise she’s ever shown comes to fruition on this album. There’s simply no excuse for not buying this album.

 

Feist – My Moon My Man.mp3

Feist – 1234.mp3

Feist – Brandy Alexander.mp3

4 Comments

  1. Jeff said,

    Definitely one of the bestest albums of 2007, thus far. “My Moon” is the jam.

  2. baltmann said,

    I could not have said it better myself. A perfect review. I also agree with the Panda, however, LCD? I can’t for the life of me figure out what is to like about LCD. I listened to it several times and I keep coming away bored and irritated, thinking so many other artists do this kind of muse only better. I would swap Of Montreal or even Arcade Fire over LCD. As those are the four best thus far in 2007. Keep up with the wonderful comments, SM. I look forward to reading them daily……

  3. Chris said,

    Oh come on… Let It Die is an amateurish mess? No way. The Reminder is awesome, I’ll give you that, but there’s no way that cover songs ruin her previous album. They’re both great. Monarch on the other hand… blech.

  4. Olle said,

    Well duh, this album is great. No discussion required. But I would put Arcade Fire and The Shins up there with the best so far this year, and also remove Panda and LCD. Even though I like LCD, I think their last album was far better. As for Panda, I don’t understand his music at all.

    Anyway, what I wanted to say was: The Reminder is fantastic, and so is this blog (been reading for about 1 month now). Keep it up.

Leave a Reply

