The National | Mistaken For Strangers

May 21, 2007 at 6:05 am (mp3s, The National, Videos)

The National If the National were subtle on Alligator, then they’re downright elusive on their latest LP, Boxer. Everything is understated, left to grow on you through repeated listens. It’s a good dozen or so listens before you start to appreciate the album for what it is. I imagine that choosing a single for Boxer was a nightmare; singles are meant to be immediately catchy, something you like the minute you hear it, but Boxer is full of slow growers. So, they chose the darkest, most aggressive track on the album, ‘Mistaken For Strangers’. ‘Strangers’ is the closest Boxer comes to a rock-out like ‘Lit Up’, with it’s tight, quick instrumentation and mournful lyrics. Its video mirrors its claustrophobic nature perfectly, shooting the band from too-close angles in close quarters. Boxer will be released tomorrow (5/22) via Beggars Banquet.

Mistaken For Strangers Video [Dailymotion]

The National – Mistaken For Strangers.mp3

1 Comment

  1. marcia said,

    http://mariamorta.wordpress.com
    I am slaved for about ten years. Your concerns are the last things I would like to have think of, but I need you to read my website and help me restoring my human status, lost by end of 2001 when I denounced crime in AU to the right authorities in the right time. I am attacked, with worst crimes ever, by the own authorities for defence of legality and rights in the world since back then. With me, quite a few people. Hundreds of thousands are dead now because of their abuse of power, megalomania, and thought that they ‘are God’, believe it or not. We all need your help, past and current victims. Giving me justice, getting this all in the press the right way is your best protection, so that you do not end up slaved or mutilated or others by these maniacs. Please rush to help. Special attention to the page on ‘how to help’ of mine. Rush. Spreading is also help, just obviously not enough help.

    I am Jesus 24/7, crucified each and every new second, also from inside of my body, in place of thieves, prostitutes, violators of human rights, and others that human kind considered ‘gems’ instead of considering me to be such.

Leave a Reply

