Cat Power | The Greatest Extras

May 29, 2007 at 8:12 pm (Cat Power, Extras, mp3s)

Chan Marshall

Chan Marshall (aka Cat Power) will always hold a special place in my heart. She was artist that introduced me to the genre I now love so much, despite despising it’s name; indie. Normally, people abandon their first musical love, but fortunately, that’s never happened to me and Chan (If you haven’t figured it out by now, I have a teensy little crush on Ms. Marshall). Instead, I only grew to love her music more, as it became a safe harbor of sorts for me. Whenever I’m tired of having my ears blasted by the next big thing, I can always put on Moon Pix and relax. While Moon Pix is, and will like remain my favorite album of hers, last years The Greatest was a solid entry into her library. I’ve had these Japanese bonus tracks from that album for a while, but for some reason in never occurred to me to post them here until my Cat Power binge today. ‘Up and Gone’ is typical The Greatest fare, dreamy and soulful, while ‘Dream’ successfully mixes the best of old and new Cat Power material in a gorgeous little piano ballad. Now, about that rumored ’07 album . . .

 

Cat Power – Dream.mp3

6 Comments

  1. Annika said,

    wait… dream is a cover of the everly brothers’ song. maybe i’m splitting hairs, but i wouldn’t call that her material. i’d call it a beautifully done cover of someone else’s material.

    SC: I figured since she changes the songs she covers so much, that I’d be safe.

  2. Chris said,

    Moon Pix is beautifully awesome… it ties with You Are Free, for me.

    And yeah Chan also got me into “indie”. What a world! I can’t wait to see her again when she’s in Toronto …

  3. Edson said,

    where’s up and gone? am I totally just not seeing the link?

  4. yee said,

    oh, you’re so awesome! i’m so glad i chanced upon this! i agree with you. chan will always be my favourite ever!

  5. yee said,

    oh, do you have ‘Up and Gone’ somewhere as well?

  6. Natalia Molina said,

    Hi There,

    I’m a huge fan of Chan Marshall…

    I was wondering where the dream mp3 you uploaded went, ive been trying to find this song for a while and would love to have it. It’s such a beautiful cover of a classic favorite of mine

Leave a Reply

