Caribou | After Hours

June 4, 2007 at 8:52 pm (Caribou, mp3s)

CaribouWhen I think of Caribou’s latest LP, Andorra, I think of a remote island somewhere in the Pacific. There, I’m floating on a cloud above a beach, where the sand is that pretty shade of white, and the sea is deep blue. When I first envisioned this, I knew I was eating something while I was laying on my cloud, but it took me a long time to decide exactly what that was. Eventually, I decided that it was a vanilla milkshake, with a little chocolate mixed in. I don’t know if you’ve ever had a milkshake like that, but if you have, you’ll know how it tastes just a little bit sweet, but not overpoweringly so. It’s sort of like the chocolate takes the edge off the vanilla, and vice versa. Andorra is sort of like a vanilla/chocolate milkshake. Essentially, it’s a mix of sugary dream-pop and electronic, with some nice little psychedelic elements thrown in for good measure. The electronic manages to offset the pop’s sweetness, making it not only palatable, but actually quite delicious, and the pop counters the electronic tendency to turn a little cold. The mixture is pure brilliance, to say the least. I’m not sure that ‘After Hours’ is the album’s standout track, but only because the album stands so strongly as a whole, particularly the superb second half. You have to hear this album to believe it.

 

Caribou – After Hours.mp3  (Removed Upon Request)

 

______________________________

 

On a side note, you should head over to Music For Kids Who Can’t Read Good for some of the awesome tracks being used in the new iPhone commercials.

Leave a Reply

