Pissed Jeans | I’ve Still Got You (Ice Cream)

June 5, 2007 at 10:26 am (mp3s, Pissed Jeans)

Listening to Pissed Jeans for the first time is the musical equivalent of being drop-kicked by a gorilla. Hard. When I first heard their new album, Hope For Men, about a week ago, my reaction was that of a crazy person. I sat at my desk for a few seconds, stunned at what I was hearing, then quickly hit the mute button, and deleted the mp3 files from my desktop. I really had no intention of ever listening to the Jeans again. But them yesterday, I ran across an mp3 of theirs on my daily hype machine crawls, and decided to give them another chance. This time, the gorilla didn’t drop-kick me, but instead, it hugged me. Maybe a little too tightly, I should add. After you dig through the molasse-thick sludge that coats Hope For Men, you’ll come across some not-so-subtle punk elements. In fact, the more I listen to Pissed Jeans, the more I’m reminded of the New York Dolls. They’re abrasive as hell, but they’re not as inaccessible as they’d like you to think. In fact, once you get around pure shock of it all, it’s pretty easy to find yourself hopping around and screaming along with the lead vocals. “I’ve Still Got You (Ice Cream)” one of Hope For Men’s punkier songs, and probably the best starting point for those who’ve never heard the Jeans before. Sure, it opens with a belch, but it’s about as good an entry point you’re gonna get. If you’re put off by “Ice Cream” the first time you hear, I urge you to give it another chance. If there’s one thing Pissed Jeans have taught me, it’s that sometimes you’ve just gotta hug the gorilla.

 

Pissed Jeans – I’ve Still Got You (Ice Cream).mp3

Leave a Reply

