Sir Richard Bishop | While My Guitar Violently Bleeds

June 17, 2007 at 11:08 am (mp3s, Sir Richard Bishop)

While My Guitar Violently BleedsOnce again, I apologize for the silence around here as of late. I’ve been a little off lately, thinking too much and barely listening to any new music. I suppose you can only listen to so many next-big-thing albums before you become disgusted with the commercialization of music that’s occurred over the past few years. Given my state of mind these past few days, it’s probably not surprising that the one new album to catch my attention is distinctly “un-commercial”; Sir Richard Bishops While My Guitar Violently Bleeds. Now, as you read that title, your mind probably jumped to all sorts conclusions about Bishop piggybacking another album in hopes of success. While I certainly had similar thoughts when I first read it, I assure you that you couldn’t be more wrong. In fact, the title fits the album better than anything else I’ve ever heard; Bishop coaxes some of the most stunning and unlikely sounds you’ll ever hear from a guitar. Two parts acoustic, one part psychedelic, and one part noise, While My Guitar Violently Bleeds is a multicultural trek through beautiful simplicity. Alternating between relaxing, gentle strums, and tense, quick picks of the guitar, Bishop reaches truly transcendental heights; the final moments of the last track are the perfect ending to an album, as cathartic and climactic as you would hope. While My Guitar Violently Bleeds is out now on Locust Music.

 

Sir Richard Bishop – Zurvan.mp3 

1 Comment

  1. Watgn said,

    i am gonna show this to my friend, dude

Leave a Reply

