Band Of Horses | No One’s Gonna Love You

October 7, 2007 at 6:37 pm (Band Of Horses, New Music, Rock)

Cease To Begin

I know I haven’t posted anything this mainstream in a while (save for Radiohead, but come on, it’s Radiohead) but I think Band Of Horses sophomore album, Cease To Begin, deserves your attention. I went into it with low expectations, after hearing a fair amount of backlash over the album’s “low-down” feel, and maybe even more over recent marketing decisions made by the band. Well, I never heard Everything All The Time, so I don’t really know anything about the shift in sound between the two. I don’t particularly care about who the band licenses their songs to, either. So, judging CTB purely on it’s songs (what a concept!), it’s a pretty damn good album. It’s completely unpretentious, and wholly enjoyable, even if it drops into slightly hackneyed territory at points. Still, I’m not sure I can see the “indie” community embracing this one, which is a shame; they’re missing out on a great album.

 

Band Of Horses – No One’s Gonna Love You.mp3
[From Cease To Begin, out October 9th on Sub Pop]

Leave a Reply

