Covers Wednesday | Bright Eyes, Animal Collective, & Björk

April 10, 2007 at 6:50 pm (Animal Collective, Bjork, Bright Eyes, mp3s)

Polly

Since my other two weekly features have gone over so well, I thought I should introduce another new feature: that would Covers Wednesday. As you can guess,  Covers Wednesday consists of covers. I don’t think there’ll be any particular style though; some weeks I’ll focus one artist’s covers, other weeks covers of one artist. Still others, like today, I’ll just throw together a few semi-random covers that piqued my interest. Today, I’ve got some covers by Animal Collective, Björk, and Bright Eyes, of Nirvana, Nancy Sinatra, and Feist. The Animal Collective cover of Nirvana’s ‘Polly’ is definitely the best of the bunch. It’s one of the most darkest songs from either bands catalog. I never understood the controversy over ‘Polly’ until now; with AC performing it, the subtleties Cobain wrote in take center-stage, producing the most thoroughly disturbing song I’ve heard since Scott Walker’s last album. 

 

Björk & PJ Harvey – Satisfaction (Rolling Stones Cover).mp3

Björk – You Only Live Twice (Nancy Sinatra Cover).mp3

Bright Eyes – Mushaboom (Feist Cover).mp3

Bright Eyes – Out On The Weekend (Neil Young Cover).mp3

Animal Collective – On A Plain (Nirvana Cover).mp3

Animal Collective – Polly (Nirvana Cover).mp3

SC Covers Mixtape 4/10.rar

Technorati Tags: , , , ,

2 Comments

  1. Sarah said,

    Love the Fiest cover. I really like that song – think Conor did a good job.

  2. flegblog » Blog Archive » björk invasion:earth intruders (plus: covercover) said,

    […] Björk & PJ Harvey – “Statisfaction” (Rolling Stones Cover) (via) […]

Leave a comment