Betty Davis | Self-Titled & They Say I’m Different

May 16, 2007 at 7:32 am (Betty Davis, mp3s, Reissues)

Betty Davis I’m not big on reissues, but every now and then I’ve got to make an exception. Case in point: yesterday, Betty Davis’ self-titled debut and it’s follow-up, They Say I’m Different, were reissued, seeing store shelves for the first time since the early seventies, with some nice bonus tracks on each. There’s no way you can pass up these records. Davis’ influence in music is hard to overstate; this is the gal who married Miles Davis, had an affair with Jimi Hendrix, worked with artists like Sly & The Family Stone and the Pointer Sisters, and influenced her husband to record the classic Bitches Brew. Over thirty years after their initial release, her albums still sound fresh as they did years ago. Davis’ smooth/weathered vocal dynamics are still unmatched, as is the superb jazz-fusion instrumentation. These records should be required listening.

 

Betty Davis – Steppin’ In Her I. Miller Shoes.mp3

Betty Davis – He Was A Big Freak.mp3 

3 Comments

  1. Barkha said,

    I love Betty Davis and “freak” has always been my fav-o song by her. Glad to see the homage here to her. Link for “steppin'” doesn’t seem to be working, though!

    SC: It works fine for me, what problems were you having with it?

  2. Barkha said,

    Hmmm, not sure what’s causing the problem. It just hangs.

  3. Barkha said,

    Never mind. I figured it out!

Leave a comment